Seeing life through the macro lens

DSC_0044

Although I am not a professional photographer, I find much pleasure in taking pictures. Some of my favorite themes have always been sunrises, sunsets, and panoramic scenery. I am amazed at the way that our Creator continues to paint our surroundings, and often only lasting a few brief minutes. It makes me sense my smallness in the universe, which sometimes is humbling, but always reassuring that my Father loves me and cares for me, yes, even me!

Lately, though, I have begun to enjoy taking shots of small wonders, close up. Focusing on what is very near me has shown me how much I miss, the details that I too often ignore.

DSC_0161

It seems that my life in general is taking on this type of focus. I looked up the dictionary definition of “macro lens” which is: a camera lens designed to focus at very short distances with up to life-size magnification of the image. 

I read recently someone’s comment that few people’s lives are changed by words spoken to a multitude, but more are changed by what is spoken to them directly one-on-one or in an intimate gathering. Considering the influence that others have had in my life, I have found this to be generally true.

Even Jesus had different results with the multitudes than with his disciples. The same multitudes that wanted to make him king changed their mind to crucify him, but his twelve received his word and were transformed. 

I would much rather make a bigger difference in the lives of a few than a fleeting impression on many. Seeing with a macro lens I can “focus at very short distances” and bring out the glorious detail of God working his plan in people’s lives. Then the world can see the “life-size magnification of the image” – God’s image – as we are changed from glory to glory.

Leave a Reply

