God believes in you!

Image

The other day I was counseling a teen who had been physically and psychologically abused by her father all her life, The beatings and insults had taken their toll; her self-esteem was non-existent. She had also observed her mother and siblings being abused in the same way. She showed me her arms, where she had cut herself repeatedly with a razor, wishing to take her life but not having the strength to go through with it.

As we finished the session, I encouraged her to talk to her heavenly Father, to trust that God would help her in her difficulty. Her response: “I used to believe in God, but I don’t anymore with all that I have been through.”

I thought for a quick moment, and heard myself reply, “That’s too bad, because God still believes in you.”

The idea took her by surprise. She didn’t respond with words, but her expression was enough to tell me that she hadn’t thought of that before.

I hadn’t really thought of it that way before; I believe that the Holy Spirit gave me the words she needed to hear at that moment.

As I left the office, I reflected on how her faith had been stolen from her. Her words lingered in my mind as the fragrance of smoke from a burned building. What a victory the enemy must have believed he had won, to hear her say that. Years of violence had worn her down to where she had lost consciousness of God’s presence in her life. I wanted to weep.

Later on, I realized that my quick comment was basically what we are told in 2 Timothy 2:13: “If we are faithless, He remains faithful; for He cannot deny Himself.” 

Our persuading, our arguing, or our reasoning are not enough to produce faith in someone else. We must have faith in God, in His faith. Believe that He will work through our lives, our words.

God’s faith in a person is all the spark that is needed for their dying faith to burst into flame.

God believes in you! What is your response to Him?

2 thoughts on “God believes in you!

  1. Pingback: When I Believed! | Jacqui Senn

Leave a Reply

